powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Wednesday Whatevers

Click here to join writercircle
Click to join WriterCircle

QUOTATION: People often say that, in a democracy, decisions are made by a majority of the people. Of course, that is not true. Decisions are made by a majority of those who make themselves heard and who vote - a very different thing. - Walter H. Judd

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-08-29 - 7:34 p.m.

A Catastrophic Success - A Real Conundrum

In a recent interview President Bush defined the war in Iraq �a catastrophic success.� I�m not quite sure what that means, but perhaps it has to do with his additional statement � �being so successful, so fast, that an enemy that should have surrendered, or been done-in, escaped and lived to fight another day.� Durn. Those enemies have responsibilities, ya know. They oughta just put their hands up, wave a white flag or lie down and die.Yep, sure enough. But, no�they took what weapons they could, retreated, took cover, and regrouped. Causing, in fact, the US to suffer far more deaths and casualties since we had that catastrophic success than before that fateful swashbuckling appearance aboard the aircraft carrier at the �conclusion� of the war �with more work to do.�

Thanks to THEYKNEW for a trascription of these remaining interview comments of Dubya:

INTERVIEW: George W. Bush

ON INTELLIGENCE REFORM: �Obviously, all of us that now look at intelligence say, Let�s make sure that the analyst who came up with that information has gotten additional input�

--- ON WAR ON TERROR: �I think it is a long-lasting ideological struggle� I�m Not the Historian. I�m The Guy Making History� ---

ON WHAT HE�S LEARNED: �Washington is a much more bitter, ugly place, dominated by special interests, than I ever envisioned. I was surprised.�

Time Magazine,New York � When asked about his thinking when it turned out that there were no WMD stockpiles in Iraq, Bush tells TIME, �As you go forward, how do you deal with the threats that face the country? Yes, it�s to make sure that [you have] the ability to analyze information in a way that can look at all sides, to make sure that all opinions end up in the end product [presented] to the decision makers. That�s really what we�re talking about when it comes to intelligence reform.�

Bush agrees that he now finds himself asking a second set of questions on the intelligence that he might not have asked before. �Yes, obviously, all of us that now look at intelligence say, Let�s make sure that the analyst who came up with that information has gotten additional input. We�ve just got to make sure that as we connect the dots, everybody�s voices are heard.�

Bush thinks the war on terrorism, �is a long-lasting ideological struggle� and that �it ought to be called the struggle of a totalitarian point of view that uses terror as a tool to intimidate the free.� He reflects on his role in the war on terrorism, �I�m not the historian. I�m the guy making history.� �I�m a two-month man right now. [Laughter.] I don�t know. We�re dealing in a part of the world where our policy was, O.K., we�ll kind of tolerate the lack of liberty for other reasons and just hope it gets better. And sure enough, it didn�t.�

TIME's exclusive interview with the President at his Prairie Chapel Ranch in Texas with TIME�s John F. Dickerson and Nancy Gibbs is featured in this week's Republican Convention preview issue. The coverline is "The World According to George Bush." The lead story, "Inside the Mind of George Bush," concludes his task is to show "his strength comes from not a six-gun temperament but from judgment that has matured through three years of hard testing.� TIME assesses Bush�s character and presidency �By Bush�s math, you can change your tactics, but you pay a price for changing your principles, and can gain capital by toughing out a fight even if you lose,� Dickerson and Gibbs write.

On what the most important thing is that he�s learned from the past four years, Bush says, �I�ve learned I really enjoy the job. I�ve enjoyed doing it, to the point where I�d like to do it again. I�ve also learned that Washington is a much more bitter, ugly place, dominated by special interests, than I ever envisioned.�

Some Iraq war veterans demanding an end to the "catastrophically successful" war -- just as John Kerry did after coming back from Vietnam

* * * * * *************************

I have a friend who proclaims himself a conservative; he calls me a �liberal.� I used to think I was a liberal. Now, however, I�m beginning to think I�m a conservative. I would like our government to live within its means rather than foisting a huge debt onto our great-grandchildren.
I believe in separation of church and state; no vouchers, please, and continuing checks and balances, preferably without too much political influence. Certainly, not the Supreme Court judge who will make critical decisions duck hunting with the ones who will be judged. I'd like to see moderate judges appointed by whomever is elected, judges who would just adhere to the law and the constitution.
I want our votes to count; I'd really like to get rid of electoral college as I think it dilutes our votes. For instance, a Republican's vote in California didn't count for much in the last election. A Democrat in Utah might as well stay home from the polls.
I�m opposed to having as many regulations on the schools, demanding they spend much more time on irrelevant testing that is expensive, as well as time-consuming. I�m concerned about global warming and encroachment on agricultural land and the environment. I yearn for alternative energy sources, yet don�t want nuclear waste in my or anyone else�s backyard. If we had not had Middle East oil on which to rely, our automobile industry would have long ago been encouraged to come up with another model that would serve our needs more efficiently. Our government could have encouraged more rapid and public transit.

If "conservative" means anything, it means be careful, be thoughtful, anticipate the unanticipated, or understand that things will happen that you do not expect. Take good care of the earth and be very careful with the lives of children. But first do no harm.

More another day�

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Visit the U.S. National Debt Clock

Electoral College Vote - Current

Current Iraq Body Count

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!