powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Wednesday Whatevers

Click here to join writercircle
Click to join WriterCircle

QUOTATION: People often say that, in a democracy, decisions are made by a majority of the people. Of course, that is not true. Decisions are made by a majority of those who make themselves heard and who vote - a very different thing. - Walter H. Judd

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-07-14 - 4:01 p.m.

Not in My Town

At the risk of sounding doom and gloom, every time I hear Ridge on TV, I wonder what the Department of Homeland Security is doing, besides monitoring the �chatter,� changing the colors on the alerts, and searching for potential terrorists. I would feel more secure if when those alerts came out, we had some idea of what we are supposed to DO should one of these attacks occur. Granted, I�m delighted they are doing all they can to prevent an attack, but I�m remembering back to World War II when there was concern that the Pacific Coast might be attacked. We had drills for what the children should do should it happen during school hours, where we would meet when the all-clear sounded, and just as with fire and earthquake drills, how we were to protect ourselves. We were encouraged to store a xxx-day supply of water and food in a secure place. Have you heard anything about preparedness from Homeland Security?

President Bush asks, �Are you safer now than you were three years ago?� Would the average family know what to do if there were a nuclear, chemical or biological attack in their immediate neighborhood? Instead of just warning us that terrorists plan to attack sometime before the November elections, I�d like to be told about the plan � hopefully a fully developed, organized and even rehearsed plan � at the federal, state and local level, to handle each of the types of possible attacks. I want to know that in the last three years someone has been working on these. I would feel much safer then, President Bush.

Are the agencies any better able to coordinate and respond to a terrorist attack than they were 9/11? I�ve heard they are better equipped to handle another hijacked plane heading toward the Capital? Great! Do they really expect the next attack to replicate the last one? I�d like to be sure they have a contingency plan in case there is a biological attack in ten cities at one time instead of the ten planes they had planned on 9/11. I'd like to be sure they are protecting our water supplies adequately...not just the airports.

I suspect they really don�t want to scare us, don�t want us to stay home from the malls, but would like to keep us in denial just a little bit, so that the economy is not also put in danger. Even at the risk of being alarmed, I would like to know there is a comprehensive plan of action ready to be put in place, regardless of the method, should an attack occur.

I fear our country is not prepared. It feels as though all of our heads are firmly buried in the sand! We're counting on prevention. It�s not going to happen here � not in [insert the name of your town]! ************************************

Yeah! The Federal Marriage Amendment was defeated in the Senate! Common sense and respect for the Constitution triumph over ignorance and hatred. It's a good day for government - at least on one count.

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Visit the U.S. National Debt Clock

Electoral College Vote - Current

Current Iraq Body Count

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!