powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Wednesday Whatevers

Click here to join writercircle
Click to join WriterCircle

QUOTATION: People often say that, in a democracy, decisions are made by a majority of the people. Of course, that is not true. Decisions are made by a majority of those who make themselves heard and who vote - a very different thing. - Walter H. Judd

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-07-11 - 9:39 a.m.

Blessed Freedoms

For as long as I have known Herbert Bauer, he has written tongue-in-cheek letters to the Editor of the Davis Enterprise. I envy the skill of this 90-something-year-old man, whose wit has not dwindled a whit in the thirty-some-years I've known him. Long retired as Yolo County's Mental Health Director, Dr. Bauer can be seen out walking every day, keeping limber through yoga, and often even dancing with a local modern dance company, but as far as I'm concerned his claim to fame is his sardonic wit and wisdom. Many of us call him the conscience of Davis, the City of All Things Right and Relevant. Today's Enterprise brought us another jewel, which I'll share with you today:

Blessed Freedoms

If you look at TV, listen to radio or even read The Enterprise, there is nothing but bad things about our poor president. Let me try to counteract this trend and say a few good things about him: Frankly, what I like most about Mr. Bush is Mrs. Bush. It should be to his credit for choosing an intelligent partner whose vocabulary by far exceeds his own.

A frequent complaint is that reason and logic do not seem to occupy optimal space in the presidential thinking apparatus. This has never been scientifically proven, but even if it were true he should not be held responsible for something clearly beyond his control.

The most frequent demand is that he abandon his theocratic method of governing and switch from celestial explorations to terrestrial reality. I strongly disagree: I believe that if anyone needs divine intervention, it is Mr. Bush! Incidentally, religious obsession is not prohibited by the Patriot Act.

Be this as it may, come November we have two choices: Cast our ballot and accept responsibility for our action, or stay at home and complain about what "they" are doing to us. Mr. Bush may yet prove, as he did four years ago in Florida, that God is on his side.

By the way,God Himself may need some support, since recently our Supreme Court justices announced their supreme opinion about God being in or out of our pledge. The obvious answer is the petitioner's child custody.

After all this, and in spite of my avowed skepticism and agnosticism, allow me on this Day of Independence to express my perennial gratitude for being able to write this without fear of being arrested, tortured and killed. We are blessed.

Herbert Bauer

Davis

* * * * * * *

"For I have neither wit, nor words, nor worth,
Action, nor utterance, nor power of speech,
To stir men's blood;
I only speak right on;
I tell you that which you yourselves do know."

-Shakespeare's Julius Caesar (1599) act 3, sc.2

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Visit the U.S. National Debt Clock

Electoral College Vote - Current

Current Iraq Body Count

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!