powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Wednesday Whatevers

Click here to join writercircle
Click to join WriterCircle

QUOTATION: People often say that, in a democracy, decisions are made by a majority of the people. Of course, that is not true. Decisions are made by a majority of those who make themselves heard and who vote - a very different thing. - Walter H. Judd

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-04-13 - 8:31 a.m.

Life Full Throttle

A Story told to me by my daughter, Marci

When the phone rang early yesterday morning, the nurse in the OB Department at the U.C. Medical Center alerted Marci, that one of her patients had been admitted. The nurse reported the woman dilated to about 6 cm, so it would be awhile, as this was a first time mother. So Marci dressed in her scrubs and, instead of riding her bike to work, drove her car into her office, knowing that she would soon have to be driving to Sacramento. Her day�s schedule of seeing patients would be interrupted by the delivery of a new baby into the world, probably within a few hours.

Sooner than later, the nurse called again. The labor had progressed more rapidly than they had expected; she nearly completely dilated. �I�ll be there as soon as I can get there,� Marci said, leaving her assistant to reschedule her patients or arrange for another doctor in the group to see them. She rushed to the car and, using her cell phone, made arrangement for someone to meet her with a pass to the Doctor�s parking lot, since she�d left hers in her other car.

She arrived at the Med Center � probably no more than half an hour later � and the parking worked out; there was a spot open for her. She leaped out of the car and ran for the delivery room, where she breathlessly said, �You can start pushing now!�

After the delivery, she stopped by the cafeteria for a cup of coffee before heading back to see patients at her office. Alas! She reached into the pockets of her scrubs, only to discover she didn�t have her wallet. Not only didn�t she have her wallet; she didn�t have her car keys either. I was in such a hurry, I don�t remember locking the car, she thought. Maybe I didn�t. Oh, well, I can get the guy at the parking booth to get me into my car if my keys are locked inside.

As she neared the car, she heard a motor running. As she got even nearer, she could tell that it was her own car - unlocked, motor running, wallet and cell phone laying on the front seat � all ready for her return trip! An hour and a half after being parked. Talk about being focussed...and determined...and lucky!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Visit the U.S. National Debt Clock

Electoral College Vote - Current

Current Iraq Body Count

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!