powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Wednesday Whatevers

Click here to join writercircle
Click to join WriterCircle

QUOTATION: People often say that, in a democracy, decisions are made by a majority of the people. Of course, that is not true. Decisions are made by a majority of those who make themselves heard and who vote - a very different thing. - Walter H. Judd

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-03-31 - 6:28 p.m.

Eternal truths? Eternal life?

Many of my writing friends have turned to poetry. I decided to try my hand at it this afternoon. Now be gentle, folks...I'm just learning.

Eternal truths? I wonder.
Questions still abound
�the times they are a� movin� on'
faster than man can grasp
globally, dramatically, profusely.
What is the purpose of government?
Role of religion? Nature of life?
Questions rage unanswered.

Eternal life? We struggle to breathe.
Out-sourcing, inciting,
Aggravated, aggrieved.
Cell phones hangin' from every ear
Sending communiques far and near,
Feeding tubes, robots, and HIV,
gas-guzzling Hummers, pre-emptive war
A new paradigm to ponder, beyond our ken
to listen, to learn, to understand.


And as Molly Ivins just wrote: �Next year, the administration will phase out the $2,000 tax credit for buying a hybrid vehicle, which gets over 50 miles per gallon, but will leave in place the $25,000 tax write-off for a Hummer, which gets 10-12 mpg. That's truly crazy, and that's truly what the whole Cheney energy policy is.�

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Visit the U.S. National Debt Clock

Electoral College Vote - Current

Current Iraq Body Count

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!