powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Wednesday Whatevers

Click here to join writercircle
Click to join WriterCircle

QUOTATION: People often say that, in a democracy, decisions are made by a majority of the people. Of course, that is not true. Decisions are made by a majority of those who make themselves heard and who vote - a very different thing. - Walter H. Judd

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-07-27 - 10:16 p.m.

I Believe

I found myself riveted today by the Democratic National Convention. As the speeches wore on, I found myself feeling more and more hopeful. It will be more than disappointing if we have four more years of the Bush administration -- I feel it would be calamitous - in gargantuan proportions. But tonight I feel hopeful that the Kerry/Edwards ticket has a chance. In some ways it is almost scary to be so hopeful � I�m bracing myself for a big disappointment. I'm bracing myself for another problem with vote counting, because I fear the administration is not above corrupting the election again. I realize, of course, that this is the Democratic convention, so we obviously are seeing people who are disillusioned with the current administration -- a definite feeling that change is in the air.

I found it interesting that call-ins were coming from Canadians, as well as U.S. citizens - independents, Republicans and Democrats. The one Canadian I heard sounded desperate for John Kerry to be elected. She commented on how another four years of the Bush administration would impact Canada in many serious ways. Republicans were negative about all the hoopla! There were a few disenchanted Republicans, who said they plan to vote for Kerry. That's hopeful!

Barack Obama's brilliant speech sent chills down my spine, brought tears to my eyes and put hope in my heart. Beautiful and empassioned words, powerful and graceful delivery. "A skinny guy with a funny name," he seemed ever so genuine. I would not be surprised to one day see him as a candidate for this high office. He sounds hope loud and clear for the Democratic party. I believe. (I immediatly thought they should have had Fantasia singing her new single, "I believe..." Would have been a perfect theme song for Obama.

Ilana Wexler,the 12 year old organizer of the Kids for Kerry from Oakland, California, gave an amazing speech, I thought. And when she chided Cheney for using a four-word expletive in an exchange with Democratic Sen. Patrick Leahy, she brought delegates roaring to their feet.

"When our vice president had a disagreement with a Democratic senator, he used a really bad word," Ilana said. "If I said that word, I would be put in a timeout. I think he should be put in a timeout." (Like a permanent time-out!) What a delight!

I've not had a really good picture of Teresa Heinz Kerry until tonight. I found her to be warm and honest, unlike some other snippets I've heard, which seemed rather cool. I'm glad she's opinionated, but I hope she does not detract from Kerry's candidacy with any more "shove it" to reporters. I was somehow a bit disappointed that she didn't give more of a personal picture of John Kerry, since people keep saying they don't KNOW him yet.

I listened to a rerun of Heinz-Kerry, because we went out for a sushi dinner with Laurie and Connor tonight. Got back just in time to hear Obama again...and Heinz-Kerry.

I'm hopeful!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Visit the U.S. National Debt Clock

Electoral College Vote - Current

Current Iraq Body Count

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!